Meet a Lowcountry Dog: Coconut Ray

new 046

Coconut was 5 weeks old when Hurricane Katrina hit. Rescuers found her and her brothers floating in the flood waters of the Mississippi after the storm. She and her brothers were then shipped to the west coast of Florida and then on down to Kendall, Florida. My husband and I were living in Deerfield Beach, Florida at the time an I found her online when I was looking for a pet for my next door neighbor. She had the sweetest little face and I just couldn’t get over her story. She looked part Beagle and we already had an older full blooded beagle so the next thing I know, my husband is driving the almost two hours to Kendall to pick her up for me. She had a nasty little cold leftover from the storm but otherwise was a healthy 8 week old puppy. At first she had a problem adjusting to being loved on and touched and held but now at 43 pounds she thinks it’s ok to be a lap dog and she follows me everywhere I go. We moved back to Charleston three years ago and although she is four now there is no slowing her down. She makes sure there is no down time, no relaxing – it is always go, go, go, play, play, play. Her only drawback is she doesn’t like water too much, but who can blame her after what she had to have gone through. She brought new life and love into our family – she is the hurricane in our lives.

 submitted by Deidre Ray

NutWould you like your dog featured in an upcoming Meet a Lowcountry Dog spotlight? Send us up to 3 photos, and a short {500 words or less} write up of what makes your dog so special. Email the info to leah@lowcountrydog.com using the subject line: Meet a Lowcountry Dog.

Leave a Reply

