Giving Thanks {LCD Canine Calendars}

It’s hard to believe we’re nearly into the holiday season. Here we are at the last week before the madness begins. It’s easy to get caught up in the hustle and bustle, isn’t it?  Even the practical side of getting the house ready for family, buying the presents, preparing for the year’s biggest meals can be a big distraction from what the entire season is meant to celebrate. This year, I’ve promised myself I’m going to take time to reflect. To be thankful for all the good things in my life, to spend some time looking at what I could do better, and to think about  more meaningful ways I can give back to the people in my life, and to my community. 

One thing that I am extremely thankful for is fans of Lowcountry Dog. I can not believe that in March, LCD will be five years old. What started out as a little newsprint magazine has become something so much more than I even imagined. It’s truly become a community — and a community that is anything but passive readers. LCD readers have been instrumental in the magazine’s reach. You’ve adopted dogs we’ve featured, rolled out in support of special events for local pet charities, supported local businesses who advertise within LCD’s pages, and have reached out to friends, neighbors, and even strangers who have shared their stories of loss, hope, love and even a training quandary or two. The readers of LCD are true examples of two Bible verses that come to mind: Matthew 25:40:  ‘I tell you the truth, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me.’ and 1st Corinthians 13:1 ‘Though I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, and have not charity, I am become as sounding brass, or a tinkling cymbal.’  Truly, LCD would be but a tinkling cymbal without the love, enthusiasm and charity of its readers.

So to celebrate the local community of dog owners and LCD’s 5th Anniversary, I’m releasing TWO Canine Calendars.

The first calendar is a wall calendar featuring stunning photography of Charleston dogs by the award winning Julia Lynn. It would make a great holiday gift  for the dog lover in your life, or give it to yourself. 100% of proceeds from the sale of these calendars will be evenly distributed to local pet non-profits. So the calendar is a great example of alternative giving – a gift that is more than just a monetary purchase. Your gift will help dogs in need! You can purchase  the calendar by clicking HERE. And please encourage your friends to purchase it as well! The more purchased = the more given to local pet charities!

juliettecover

months

But if traditional wall calendars are a bit too antiquated for you then choose our FREE Desktop Wall Calendars. I’ve partnered with Charleston based illustrator Shannon MacGrogan Ellis to develop 6 custom desktop wallpaper designs just for LCD readers. Each design will feature a different dog posed in front of a Charleston landmark.  Just click HERE to download the first design {shown below as my computer’s wallpaper} which showcases an adorable Westie dressed for the holidays by the Pineapple Fountain of Waterfront Park. Make sure to check back toward the end of January for the Feb/March release! 

desktop

Thank you again, and let me know what you think about the calendars by posting a comment below!

Leave a Reply

