Meet a Lowcountry Dog: Oakley Marcotte

photo by Jon Stout Photography

Sadly on Saturday evening our sweet dog Oakley left us for Rainbow Bridge. Of course I am devastated but know in my heart I was so blessed to have had this wonderful Australian Shepherd for as long as I did. 

Oakley came into our NO DOG my family 14 years ago. We had never had a dog in our house and my Dad did not believe in the “trouble” of having dogs. I “needed” a dog in my life then, I was 18 and really had no direction. I was depressed. I brought Oakley home the summer I graduated from High School he was six months old; a very cute black tri Australian Shepherd with a kind and friendly temperament. My Dad was furious! Oakley was to stay in the basement and never to get on the furniture. Three days later, I came home from my job to see Oakley sitting on my couch in the living room with my Dad sharing potato chips watching a golf tournament. My mom and I laughed from the kitchen where he couldn’t see us. 

Since then, Oakley has proceeded to change my life and the life of my family. I took Oakley everywhere with me. We learned to walk long distances; we learned to hike. And if I couldn’t take Oakley with me to your house, then I probably wasn’t coming! After I left my parents home they got their own black tri Australian Shepherd rescued from a puppy mill, “Annie Oakley”. My uncle has also gotten a black tri Aussie, “Hundzi”. My passion is now dogs, it started with Oakley in obedience and now I am training my other Aussie and my little mixed breed in agility and rally. Oakley has changed even my brother and sister as they never had dogs in the house before either. 

Sadly, Oakley passed away on Saturday, October 17, 2009 leaving behind a beautiful legacy of healing. He will be forever remembered by many people in the Lowcountry and the Atlanta Metro Area as one of their all time favorite dogs. I am grateful that he was able to meet my daughter and get to know her and I am beyond blessed to have had my faithful companion for as long as I did. Our animals become our family; we are their humans. Let us remember them every day and be better than good to them everyday. They are a blessing.

submitted by Candy Marcotte

photo by Jon Stout Photography

Would you like your dog featured in an upcoming Meet a Lowcountry Dog spotlight? Send us up to 3 photos, and a short {500 words or less} write up of what makes your dog so special. Email the info to leah@lowcountrydog.com using the subject line: Meet a Lowcountry Dog.

2 responses to “Meet a Lowcountry Dog: Oakley Marcotte

  1. Great story, Candy. Oakley was blessed with a great family and vise versa. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Monica Martinez

    oh Candice, What a Beautiful Story. Thank you for sharing it with us. I do know how much the love of a dog can mean to someone like you and me. I have tears in my eyes right now thinking of how much I love Vino (my little mix-breed).

    You are right, Dogs are gifts…gifts from God.

    Love,

    Monica M

Leave a Reply

