Meet a Lowcountry Dog: Mercedes DeHay

Mercedes is a One year old German Shepherd mix. I’ve had her since she was a few weeks old, taken away from her litter too early. She was given to me by a homeless man in North Charleston, SC. I wasn’t able to get much information about her, considering the man kept telling me she was a male dog. When I got home I found out she was a female. Mercedes is such a diva; she loves to keep her black coat shiny by taking baths and being brushed. She is also very smart and knows many tricks; she knows how to stay, sit, find her toys. She knows how to give high fives and loves getting treats. She’s such a ham and loves the camera. She’s also a pro at showing off for me as well as visitors that come to the house. When I come home she is so excited she meets me at the door and tells me all about her day. She loves to cuddle up on the couch, chase birds, play in water and loves to go bye bye in the car for a ride.

Mercedes is one of the sweetest, loving dogs you could ever imagine, but loves to be mischievous. Over the Christmas holidays I allowed her to open one of her presents that was wrapped up under the tree. She did a great job. I left her in the room playing with her new squeaky. I heard more paper wrestling when I came back into the room. She had all the presents from underneath the tree unwrapped. I guess she figured they were all hers. Even though it was a mess and I had to re-wrap gifts her expression was priceless when she realized I caught her being naughty. I love her to death and wouldn’t trade her for anything in this world. She’s the Best!

submitted by Jessica DeHay

Would you like your dog featured in an upcoming Meet a Lowcountry Dog spotlight? Send us up to 3 photos, and a short {500 words or less} write up of what makes your dog so special. Email the info to leah@lowcountrydog.com using the subject line: Meet a Lowcountry Dog.

2 responses to “Meet a Lowcountry Dog: Mercedes DeHay

  1. Mercedes is GORGEOUS. Shiny shiny.

Leave a Reply

