Meet a Lowcountry Dog: Bessie and Riley Perry


My name is Elisabeth Perry and I am the former Director of Cruelty Prevention for the Humane Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals in Columbia, SC. My Fiance and I moved to Summerville, SC in August of 2009. Our two dogs: Bessie, an all white, 6 year old Female (spayed) Jack Russell Terrier and Riley, a tri colored, 9 year old (neutered) Jack Russell Terrier. I’m originally from Chicago, IL and my two dogs have traveled all over the country with me, helping me build and live out my dream of a career working with animals.

Each of my dogs is very unique from each other and they are the best of friends! Bessie, can play fetch with a tennis ball (literally) for hours. One of her favorite toys is the laser pointer. She will follow her laser pointer to the ends of the Earth! She’s super intelligent (she can find anything that’s hidden) and she is adorable and sweet (loves to cuddle).

Riley loves to steal wrappers (gum wrappers, candy wrappers, etc). He’s crazy smart and acts like he’s knows what I’m saying whenever I talk to him. Riley is affectionate, loving, and in tune with my emotions. He loves to be held and sit on everyone’s lap!

Both Bessie and Riley are high energy dogs and love long walks, going to Wannamaker Dog Park for hours on end, and swimming. They love children, adults, and other animals. I bought them a Jog-a-Dog (dog treadmill) about a 1-2 years ago and they LOVE it! They bark at me to turn it on so they can run on it. Sometimes they will go on it together and run side by side. While they are Jack Russell Terriers, they also LOVE to sleep!

They make our lives and the lives of whomever they meet filled with joy and laughter!

Check out Riley running on the treadmill on the video below! 

submitted by Elizabeth Perry

Would you like your dog featured in an upcoming Meet a Lowcountry Dog spotlight? Send us up to 3 photos, and a short {500 words or less} write up of what makes your dog so special. Email the info to leah@lowcountrydog.com using the subject line: Meet a Lowcountry Dog

Leave a comment